So ok I haven’t been around for a while, so here is the surprise blog I had promised.

Yep, I got one when it was released a few months back and when I ordered it, I wonder why on Earth I decided to get one. There wasn’t any really interesting games released at the time, but looking at future releases, there are some games I can’t wait for, I list them later here. I also give a quick review on the games I purchased for it.

So what is it like then? Well on first viewing I was amazed by the sheer size of the manual that came with it. It was almost the same size as my graphics calculator manual and lists everything on how to use it (obviously!). Looking around the internet I found that the 3DS doesn’t work with certain DS storage devices which I don’t care about, however it also doesn’t work with the Action Replay for DS and DSi, so I have to wait on that one. Actually you don’t have to get games in order to enjoy the 3DS as there is software on it which actually can keep you preoccupied. Haven’t played the software much but here is what I got.

Screen Protectors - Fiddly but worth it

It was funny really as I went it a shop, which was promoting the 3DS and one of the store staff asked me if I had another DS console. I have a DS lite already and he suggested that I trade in for the 3DS. That would be a good idea; however what would I do if I wanted to play ‘Guitar Hero’? I have the hand strap device in order to play the game, but the missing from the later models of DS, misses the Slot-2 which the device slots into. Instead the 3DS has a headphones connection and that’s it. On the 3DS, it boasts, 2 cameras on the lid, which allow you to take 3D pictures around you, by pressing the shoulder buttons. The pictures are then stored on a SD card which came with my 3DS. I believe there is much more you can do with the camera but I haven’t really bothered that much. The new stylus is a nice touch, it is telescopic and slots next to the slot-1 section. I had trouble getting the stylus out whilst playing a game and extending it to its full-length whilst trying not to drop the console, but now I think I am getting the hang of it. The most important feature is the 3D. On first viewing it was amazing, but in order to have the 3D, you have to view the 3DS perfectly straight, otherwise the image becomes blurred. Also after a few minutes, my eyes start to hurt. Fortunately, you can switch the 3D effect off by the slide control on the top right, so I can continue my wondrous gaming. The best thing that the 3DS has is the charging cradle. Instead of plugging in the charging cable, I can place it in the cradle and it will charge up and be ready for use.

So what is on the 3DS, well apart from the Health and Safety info, there is the 3D camera which you can take pictures and view them in 3D. Also there is this game called ‘Face Raiders’ which uses a picture of you or someone and slaps it on these helicopter things. Using the 3D camera, you look around and shoot these raiders as they come at you, with some trying to kiss you (bizarre!). Why would want to shoot yourself in the face with this game, preferably it would be better to use an image of someone you hate and have at it. The next is the augmented reality which uses AR cards, that come with the 3DS and they have a Nintendo character on them. You place them on a table and then you move around taking photos of them in their poses. Also there is the “?” card which lets you play this shooting game, but I haven’t really played it that much to comment on it properly. This card also is used in purchase games which I explain later in review one of the games I have. The 3DS has an activity log, which lists every game that has been played on the console and how long you have played them. I have a record of me playing Pokémon Black for one second! There is download play which I haven’t sorted out yet with the internet settings, but I believe you can download games to the 3DS to play. Another program I haven’t used properly is the 3DS Sound, which you can record sounds, sounds pretty interesting. There is the Mii maker, create a character of yourself so when you are out and about with the wireless active you can interact with passing 3DS users and exchange info via Street pass and Mii Plaza.

Feel free to ask any questions on owning a 3DS by comments to this blog.

Next time – Part 2: 3DS Games