This’ll probably be the last music blog of this season. Maybe only one other song I liked this season, but I don’t like it that much, so I don’t think I’ll blog it. Plus this season is ending soon. I’ve done a fair few music blogs this season, I think I’ve made up for a lack of them last season. Anyway to finish off this season’s music blog line up, I have the opening of an anime that I don’t actually like that much, but I’ve loved both openings. So I give you Phi Brain: Kami no Puzzle season 2 opening theme. Now or Never by Nano.



I thought an anime based on puzzles and involves thinking would be something I’d like. But for some reason this anime’s boring me. I mean I actually quite like the puzzles and explanations. But for some reason I can’t be bothered to watch it and see what happens next. In my opinion I think it’s because they haven’t concentrated enough on the storyline and do a lot more on puzzles, but don’t do well enough on explaining the puzzles. As in they give a puzzle that is too easy, or unsolvable without more information, and then when they do solve it it’s the end of the episode meaning we were sat there wondering what it is only to hear everything at the end.

Basically, I want it to release clues to the puzzles piece by piece so that we can solve it along with the characters and create puzzles that allow that. The current episode I’m on involves moving platforms on an ice rink, like a game of chess. The anime’s got the shounen characteristic that you’re expecting the good guys to win. And when you’re watching a game of chess of which you know who’s going to win, it gets boring. That’s my opinion anyway, but I do love the openings.

The English involved is actually pronounced alright. Not great, but decipherable, and the rap was done nicely. I love the guitar riffs in this song, they sound so smooth yet jagged at the same time. I’m stuck between Brain Driver and this song as my favourite for Phi Brain. I do like both as they both bring a sense of urgency and tension that surround the series. But I think the songs lack a feeling of mystery seeing as this anime is puzzle orientated. However, there’s nothing wrong with going for the thriller, fast paced approach. Adds an edge to the story and song. So, here’re the lyrics.

Lyrics:

Lost tesaguri de sagashiteta
Tozasareta mirai no kotae nante doko ni mo nai
Hashiru shoudou ima kaidoku funou

Found kudaketa hazu no unmei wo
Mijuku na yume no naka de kikoete kitanda
“Saigo made I’ll be there for you”

Tachidomaranai kono hari dake wa
Boku no asu wo kizamu oto tsukisasu
Shinjitsu kara nigetara ima
Genjitsu ni mo maketara ima
Nani ga nokoru no?
Kazoekirenai kono kizu dake ga
Boku no kinou wo zanzou to shite kataru
Unmei ga hodokete mo ima
Sonzai wo kowashite mo ima
Boku no michi wo yuku yo
It’s now or never

Breathe ikitsumatte ushinatte ita
Hitori mogaku hibi ni sukui motomete ita
Kono kanshou daite ima zettaizetsumei

Cry afuredashite kita kono namida ga
Karehateta boku no kokoro wo uruoshita
Iroaseta kako wo kirisutete

All the words go around in my head
Searching for the signs I misread
black or white, wrong or right
It’s an inner war we all fight

Somewhere, buried under these lies
I can see a truth that hides beyond your eyes
In the tears you cry…

This is my life
I don’t know where to begin
I’ve been wandering
Looking for the voices within
This is my life
Think I’ve found a place to begin
This is my life
This is my life

Sashinoberareta kokoro dake ga
Bokura no ima terashidashite michibiku
Furikaerazu start wo ima
Osorezu fumidashitara ii nda
Kirihiraite yuku yo

Tachidomaranai kono hari dake wa
Boku no asu wo kizamu oto tsukisasasu
Shinjitsu kara nigetara ima
Genjitsu ni mo maketara ima
Nani ga nokoru no ?
Kazoekirenai kono kizu dake ga
Boku no kinou wo zanzou to shite kataru
Unmei ga tokete mo ima
Sonzai wo kowashite mo ima
Boku no michi wo yuku yo
It’s now or never

This is what they say
“Live your life today.
There will always be,
there will always be a way”

This is what they say
“Live your life today.
There will always be,
there will always be a way”

This is what they say
“Live your life today”

Should be last one this season. Been an alright season for music, think my favourite would have to be KOTOKO’s Accel World ED. Although that may be my bias towards KOTOKO and towards Accel World, but even so, I love listening to it.

I’ve pretty much caught up on anime blogs now, so I will post up a quick season preview next week. I have no idea what’s out so can’t say anything yet. But I will say that Vanguard’s likely to continue, so I’ll definitely be blogging that.

