It’s about fricking time a HOTD theme made its way onto this site.

I can safely say that 3/5 of the blogging team likes Highschool Of The Dead. I can assume another 5th likes it, but I can’t know that for sure. What I do know is, Lucretia’s outvoted immensely and I’m making this the SOTW this week.

I can’t specify why I love HOTD. It may have something to do with zombies. Or breasts. One or the other. Or fluidity of animation and an overall well-put-together storyline. Yeah, let’s go with that…

But damn it, it’s the themes that got me hooked straight from the beginning. HOTD by Kishida Kyodan gets you good and ready for the action, then the ending themes give some sense of the emotion of the episode. Each episode has a separate ending theme to it, all by Maon Kurosaki, and they are all generally as good as each other.

However, for me, Kimi to Taiyou… is the best of them. It’s the first ending. It’s the first to leave you on a cliffhanger. It’s the first to rock your socks off. Or something. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, give the thing a listen.

CD Version

And I think it’s better in context. Rei’s scream – whether raw or dub – leads onto this quite well. I think everyone should watch the actual ending in context, it really is quite cool.

Anyway, I’m rambling again, as per usual, and I feel I should sign this off now. So I will. But: the Ending Quiz Numero Uno will be here soon for you all to enjoy! Getting a few videos has been troublesome, but I’d do anything for you loyal readers. Well, anything but murder, but you get the gist of it.

