I just realised something. I have never stated how much I love Sayonara, Zetsubou-Sensei.

Well, I do. And you should too. And if you’ve never heard of it, shame on you. Watch it. Read it. Whatever it.

All orders aside, seriously, it’s hilarious. It is the most original series I’ve ever read/watched, in both content and art. And the themes are awesome, exclusively given by either Kenji Ootsuki, the seiyuu (in a group called Zetsubou Shoujo-Tachi), or a combination of the two. This SOTW is the latter.

Hito Toshite Jiku Ga Bureteiru, which loosely translates as “For A Human, I’m Quite Warped” is such a song. It has that nuance of sticking in your head, whether you like it or not, which makes it a brilliant piece of music. In fact, there’s only one other song I know that does better, and it’s another Ootsuki/Shoujo-Tachi piece.

Granted, the OP/ED videos are pretty weird, if you don’t know what the series is about. All I say is: Don’t judge a book by it’s cover. Especially true in this case.

So, without further ado, listen to the mystical, creepy, warped, cynical, unnerving, catchy, hypnotic pop-rock.

TV Version

CD Version

Well, next week is the one-year anniversary of Song Of The Week. And it’s Lucretia’s turn. How well does all of this pan out, huh? It’s like we plan it in advance…

