Happy new year, in a few days, and happy holidays. I’m a little late with the season preview, had a particularly busy Christmas which is odd considering this is the first Christmas in 7 years where I don’t have to study for exams. But just found that I had so much to do e.g. preparations, blogging, took only 2 days off, job searching, sure no one works over Christmas but a lot of deadlines are 31st of December, also been going out more too. But whatever, managed to find myself a few spare hours to have a good look through next season’s anime and write this blog before the new season started.

A thing to note is that job searching is still tying me down a lot. I’ve already got 4 interviews booked in the first 2 weeks of January meaning I’m going to have to keep it to only 3 anime for blogging per season. Unfortunately for me job comes first right now. Bakuman and Vanguard are continuing so they’ll be kept up. Sword Art Online has finished, and I’ll get the last episode blog up in a few days leaving me with one new anime I can blog. As always, I’m picking out 5 I have an interest in and will most likely choose one to blog from these five. So here’s my preview for the anime season Winter 2012/2013.

Amnesia

Amnesia

Based on an otome game, about a girl who wakes up one August 1st morning and remembers nothing. A boy called Orion appears before her and introduces himself as a ‘spirit’. She tries to gain her memories back with Orion’s help and then gets a phone call from her apparent boyfriend who she doesn’t remember.

Thoughts:

A recommendation from a friend, wasn’t on my radar at all before she mentioned it. But it now looks pretty good to me. Amnesia always adds a nice tone of mystery to a story and if done right can be as fun as putting together a jigsaw puzzle. An anime I remember very well for its good use of amnesia as a catalyst for a good mystery investigation sorta thing was Eden of the East and I realise this doesn’t look like anything similar to that genre, but either way I’m still hoping it’ll be an interesting story. For a story based on amnesia, I think the crucial part is the pace of it, if the pieces of the puzzle fit together too quickly, it’ll be missing out on a lot of opportunities for good suspense and anticipation, if it’s too slow it’ll get boring easily. The studio is Brains Base who I know for the production of Spice & Wolf II, so trustworthy I’d hope. I trust my recommendations, she recommended K to me last season and it turned out great.

Will I blog this? –Likely

Chihayafuru Second Season

Chihayafuru second season

Sequel of Chihayafuru, about a girl named Chihaya Ayase and her group of friends and club who all engage in competitive Karuta, a card game based on Japanese poetry.

Thoughts:

Oddly enough I don’t remember the first season that well apart from I liked the card game and the art was lovely. However that’s all I need to remember continue watching. All the card games I play these days are TCGs, so when this anime first spoke of a card game I was interested in what it was. I’m glad to say I took that interested as Karuta is a good game. Although I can’t ever see myself having a fast enough reaction to play it, but I would love to try. Hope the second season can give more Karuta playing, and of course I wouldn’t mind enjoying the artwork as well.

Will I blog this? – Unlikely

Minami-ke Tadaima

Minami-ke-Tadaima

The fourth season of a slice of life comedy anime revolving around the everyday lives of 3 sisters.

Thoughts:

I’ve watched the other seasons, it’s a pretty typical slice of life comedy, and so it wasn’t too bad. I enjoyed the other seasons so it’s only logical I watch the next season too. Been a long time coming I didn’t think they’d actually make another season. Last time they announced a fourth season it turned out to be a few OVAs, hopefully this time it’s actually a proper anime season.

Will I blog this? – No

Savanna Game

Savanna Game

A boy named Kazuya Shibuya gets a mysterious anonymous email one day with the messages ‘Won’t you join the Savanna Game?’ This is a killing game sanctioned by the Japanese to motivate the inhibited youth. Shibuya and two friends are now trapped and find themselves engaged in different battles facing a variety of creatures.

Thoughts:

My first thought was that it sounds like a fantasy version of BTOOOM. And if it is, I’ll definitely enjoy it. I watched BTOOOM last season. I didn’t have the intention to, but after reading some reviews and opinions I found myself checking it out and got roped into the action driven storyline. I’m not quite sure what to expect from this but from the pictures I’ve seen, the art looks lovely and that’s always a factor that can make or break an anime’s success. I’m expecting another action driven anime and wouldn’t mind that, always need a good battle fantasy in any anime season. However if this is tilting towards the mystery side I wouldn’t mind either. Though the main thing I’m concerned about is it overdoing the gore. I find blood everywhere if I search Savanna Game, so I’m expecting some gore, it’s about a killing game after all. BTOOOM was fine as it was bombs so not too much blood, but I remember back to Blood C and some scenes with over exaggerated blood spray were stupid and ruined the horror for me turning it into something more comical. That’s what I’m hoping will not happen here. There’s a good balance that needs to be kept.

Will I blog this? – Maybe

Tamako Market

Tamako Market

An original anime by Kyoto Animation.

Thoughts

The new anime from KyoAni this season. It’s a completely new work so not much is known. From what I’ve seen of it, it looks like it’s going to be about a market district, or shopping district, or something of the sort. It’s comedy, something I’m always up for. What I remember is that the main character is called Tamako Kitashirakawa and her family runs a mochi shop in this marketplace.

Will I blog this? – No

