Now this is a first, me writing my season preview on time. Or at least more than a week or so before everything kicks off. I thought it’d be best to do it early as if I let it drag on it’ll never be written and my workload will just pile up more and more. So, I’m happily looking at the new anime now.

This blog has unfortunately pretty much turned into a one woman band if you haven’t noticed. Raven comes on every fortnight for SOTW, but that’s pretty much it. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I may be slow sometimes and behind at other times, but I don’t want to stop blogging. Not just yet anyway, life has caught up with me a bit and I do realise how busy things can get. Doesn’t help that I’m moving into my first set of written exams for work in June but at least after that I can relax for a few more months. Gonna be a bit of a slog for a few years, but I’m sure up for it. My point is, I’ll complain and complain some more, but for now, the blog will continue. For those who do read and may perhaps think I’m growing weary of writing blogs it’s here to stay. Not that many read anyway I’m sure, but those who do, you have my gratitude.

Having said that, my exam season is quickly approaching and although Easter is also approaching I’ll more than likely be using most of that time for revision. So however much I want to blog more than 2 anime, it just isn’t possible.

Now, more personal woes aside, I’ll be watching Cardfight Vanguard: Legion Mate as I’ll still be blogging it. And due to a recent announcement that Vanguard will have a 5th, 6th and 7th season, it looks like I’ll be blogging it for a long time. I don’t mind, I love the game and in fact I recently built myself a new Pale Moon deck, Silver Thorn Base but running 3 random grade 3s and 4 Evas. Need to get myself some Luquier Reverse or wait for Empress, but it’s not my main deck so I don’t mind. Anyway, the point is Vanguard won’t be in my pick of 5 as it started before the season and I’ve already started blogging it anyway.

So still only 1 new anime I’ll blog as Hamatora looks to end, and there’s definitely some interesting ones around this season. I present to you my top 5 pick, to watch in any case.

Date a Live II

Date a Live 2

Second season of ‘Date a Live’ where an ordinary schoolboy named Itsuka Shido comes across mysterious girls who are spirits, who are the cause of spacequakes throughout the world, and must make them fall in love with him to seal their powers.

Thoughts

I enjoyed this battle fantasy romance anime’s first season. Kurumi Tokisaki has to be my favourite character with her flintlock and musket guns and crazy personality. Oh and her heterochromia, I love anime characters with that, makes them that more creepy. The battles were fun and the weird take on the romance side of things made it easy for me to enjoy. So I’m hoping for more of that this season as well. It’s definitely more of a fun anime than anything serious and I guess that’s what I enjoy about it the most, the times where they make fun of the typical dating sim choice situations. Sure a lot of anime do similar things, but everything else made this more fun for me. I suppose it’s more of the serious setting that works so well with the overall happy go lucky atmosphere and just knowing that things will be alright makes it relaxing to enjoy.

Will I blog this? – Unlikely

Escha & Logy no Atelier: Tasogare no Sora no Renkinjutsushi

Atelier Escha and Logy

This world has gone through many Dusks, and is slowly nearing its end. Within this world, in the western reaches of the “Land of Dusk,” there was a nation that prospered thanks to its use of alchemy.

There, in order to survive the eventual arrival of the “Dusk End,” the people devoted their efforts to rediscover and recreate lost alchemic technologies. Rediscovered technology from the past era was gathered in the alchemy research city known as “Central,” where research was conducted on how to halt the advance of the twilight.

One of the heroes is a young man who researched alchemy in Central, the other a girl living in a small town on the frontier. This girl’s name is Escha. In the process of using her knowledge of ancient alchemy to help others, she was assigned to the Development Department. The young man’s name is Logy. Having learned the newest alchemic techniques in Central, he requested a transfer to this understaffed town to make use of his abilities, and meets Escha when he is assigned to the Development Department as well. The two make a promise to use their alchemy together, and bring success to the Development Department.

Thoughts

Atelier anime! No chance I’m missing this. Having started playing the atelier series with Atelier Rorona I’ve quite liked the Arland trilogy. Currently finishing it off and playing Atelier Meruru. Will be moving onto Atelier Ayesha after this, the Dusk series. A relaxing game to play whilst watching anime on a Friday evening, pretty much the only time I play it in any case. So far in the Arland series the stories have been pretty straight forward, all about getting the main character to become an alchemist and development good relationships with the rest of the cast. Pretty standard I have to say, but I love the art style and the combat system is a very simple turn based one which reminds me of the old Final Fantasy turned based fighting systems. This storyline sounds a little darker than the Arland series, so probably makes for a better anime hopefully.

But anyway, an anime game turned anime series. Blazblue was a slight disappointment, but I still enjoyed it. So whilst my expectations aren’t the highest, I do still hope that it’ll turn out somewhat decent.

Will I blog this? – Likely

La Corda D’Oro Blue Sky

La Corda D'Oro Blue Sky

This story follows a girl named Kanade and her relationships with the orchestra members and the other boys at her school.

Thoughts

This sounds like UtaPri, very similar type of story but obvious different settings. I liked UtaPri, I may like this too. That was exactly how short my train of thought was when I decided that this will be one of the ones I watch. I’ll be honest, I think that’s going to be my only reason anyway, well except that I love the art style as well and to me, when story and artwork both interest me that’s an easy decision to watch. Probably true for the majority of us, unless you read more into it and get other information. But even still, it’s a shoujo romance and I haven’t see one of these for a while, and I’ve enjoyed the majority I’ve seen. So it’s no brainer that this is on my list.

Will I blog this? – Unlikely

Mahou Shoujo Taisen

Mahou Shoujo Taisen

“Mahou Shoujo Taisen” is a project created from a variety show for the Otaku “2.5 Chigen TV” (2.5 Dimension TV). The characters are the mahou shoujo that represents each local town in Japan. The characters that won from the second illustration competitions that were held on pixiv will appear in the anime.

Thoughts

Now that’s an interesting and different way to produce an anime. I do like Mahou Shoujos and this anime sure has no lack of them. Although from the name of the anime it looks like it’ll have no plot, in fact to me it sounds a little like Queen’s Blade. Not exactly a good start, and just to be clear I’ve never seen it, I know of it. However what easily decided for me that I’ll watch this anime was clearly the artwork. The poster picture for the anime is beautiful and the character designs are amazing and unique. Count on the artist population of Japan to draw such lovely characters. When I was looking down the list of new anime this was the first that caught my eye and without even reading anything into it I knew I wanted to watch it. I’m not really that bothered about the story, but of course if it’s good then that’s a bonus. If it is what I think it’ll be, i.e. just a battle tournament, then that’s fine too. I’m pretty certain Gainax can deliver something good here, at least for my tastes.

Will I blog this? – Unlikely

selector infected WIXOSS

Selector infected WIXOSS

No summary can be found. However the tagline says:
Hope, desire, greed.

Girls with each of these feelings in their hearts are being swallowed into the vortex of a dangerous game.

Thoughts:

I can’t find any summary for this, but it looks good, and the important thing is, it’s got a card game coming out and you know how I love card games. I also know the studio is J.C.Staff, a studio that’s always produced quality anime like Shana, Zero no Tsukaima, Index and Railgun etc. So whatever it is, I think I’ll like it. Since there’s not much information I actually watched the PV and it looks very dark and serious. Unlike TCG anime I know, so this looks interesting and the potential of a good story. If first impressions are good, then this’ll definitely be something I’d like to blog.

Will I blog this? – Maybe

