Right, exams over and new season’s on! I predict some good times, at least for my anime watching in terms of quantity. Last season I believe I only managed to watch 11 anime due to exam revision taking up the majority of my time. Now that I have free afternoons and weekends I plan to pick up more of the next season to watch. Although that said, it does mean I usually end up watching a lot of anime I don’t actually like. I’m the type of person who don’t like to stop after a few episodes. Last season I was ‘forced’ to cherry pick my selection down to 11, which worked out well as they were the ones I really wanted to watch. In fact even then I still found that one or two bored me a little. So whilst I say I’ll pick up a lot more this season, I may still drop those that really bore me or feel like a chore to watch.


That however shouldn’t affect my blogging, so nothing to worry about there, more about me confirming my plans for next season and rambling on. But before I stop rambling, I do want to say that because of my cherry picking last season I have been able to remember the stories of the 4 anime I really enjoyed, which is a first, as watching nearly 30 series a season made me forget almost every storyline. A lot of the time I’ll even be asking myself if an anime actually ended and how it ended because I’ll have watched more than I can take in.

So yeah, a rare occasion last season where I remembered the storylines. My top 4 as I’ve said before, are Black Bullet, One Week Friends, No Game No Life and Mahouka.

Okay, ramblings done, and moving onto my preview. No real news to talk about, I’m making full use of my free weekends, going to many events and I literally have no free weekend in the month of July. Looking forward to it all. Because of that I think I’ll keep to my 2 blogs a week schedule as I write the blogs during the weekend. Weekdays are for getting the screenshots and editing, if you’ve ever wondered what my schedule looked like.

That brings me onto what I’ll be blogging then. With WIXOSS’s second season not coming out until autumn, I won’t have that to worry about, and even then it’s not definite that I’ll blog it. As for this season, I knew a few of the anime already coming out namely Sword Art Online, Hamatora and Free season 2s and Sailor Moon. What I’ll be blogging could come from those 4, though very unlikely Free.

Glasslip

Glasslip

Touko Fukami’s family runs a glass-working business in a small seaside town. She hangs out with her four best friends at a cafe called “Kazemichi.” During the summer break of their senior year in high school, they meet a transfer student named Kakeru Okikura, who claims that a voice from the future talks to him, and that it’s led him to Touko. His arrival sets off a series of events that will make their final summer together one full of hope and heartache.

Thoughts

As you may also know, I’m a big fan of the slice of life genre, always have an anime purely for relaxation purposes. This particular one has an interesting set up for a slice of life. Just the fact that it’s 6 highschoolers’ everyday lives would’ve got me to watch, but add in something about one of their dreams to become a glass artisan and I’m all ears. Oh also, to add extra lure for me, the ED is by nano.Ripe who I may have said I like. Having read through other synopsis’ it’s apparent that the anime will have a plotline. It kinda reminds a little of ‘Waiting in the Summer’ which I liked. I remember it being laidback, and a fun time with a plotline in place that gave the characters more personality and made me care. I don’t mind how this one goes because it looks interesting either way. A final thing, I chose this to look at instead of Free, because I’m sure you all know about Free anyway and I wanted to give my opinion on something else.

Will I blog this? – Unlikely

Kantai Collection

Kantai Collection

Anime adaptation of the online browser card game

Thoughts

I actually know about this, correct me if I’m wrong, but I believe it’s a popular online card game revolving around battleships? Weirdly enough this caught my attention due to its popularity and it appearing on anime news websites now and then enough that I remember its name. One can’t help but be interested in a TCG anime, as you may already know that from me by now.

Will I blog this? – Unlikely

Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon Crystal

Sailor Moon Crystal

Usagi Tsukino is a second-year middle school girl who is a little clumsy and a crybaby, but she is full of energy. One day, she meets Luna, a black cat with a crescent moon on her forehead, and she transforms into Sailor Moon, a sailor-uniformed pretty guardian of love and justice! As a chosen guardian of justice, Usagi seems to have a mission to find the Illusionary Silver Crystal with the other guardians and to protect the princess.

Meanwhile, the queen of the Dark Kingdom, Queen Beryl, also sends minions to the town where Usagi lives to obtain the Illusionary Silver Crystal, which has immense power. This causes strange events to unfold…

Can Sailor Moon really find the Illusionary Silver Crystal with the other Sailor guardians, and protect the princess…?!

Thoughts

Well, what can I say, I’ve had numerous recommendations to watch it having only seen a few episodes of the original. And being a fan of shoujo magical girl anime I can hardly miss this renowned anime that quite literally revolutionized the magical girl genre.

Will I blog this? – Maybe

Re:Hamatora

Re-hamatora

Continuation of Hamatora about a group of people with special powers called Minimums.

Thoughts

The first season left a lot to be answered with a cliffhanger. It was an enjoyable anime that questioned society in interesting ways and I liked the different perspectives and outlooks on the world even if it’s not exactly the real world, as it does point out to problems that resemble real life. I’ll be honest, I felt the story itself was a little disappointing and lacklustre from the potential it showed at the start, but Moral’s one sided ideals made it interesting enough. Giving rise to many a rant from me. However because of how the story ended up at the end, it did make up for a lot of what happened, or didn’t happen, so I find it only natural to want to see what happens next.

Will I blog this? – Likely

Sword Art Online II

SAO II

1 year after the SAO incident, Kirito is approached by Seijiro Kikuoka from Japan’s Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications Department “VR Division” with a rather peculiar request.

That was an investigation on the “Death Gun” incident that occurred in the gun and steel filled VRMMO called Gun Gale Online (GGO). “Players who are shot by a mysterious avatar with a jet black gun lose their lives even in the real world…” Failing to turn down Kikuoka’s bizarre request, Kirito logs in to GGO even though he is not completely convinced that the virtual world could physically affect the real world.

Kirito wanders in an unfamiliar world in order to gain any clues about the “Death Gun.” Then, a female sniper named Sinon who owns a gigantic “Hecate II” rifle extends Kirito a helping hand. With Sinon’s help, Kirito decides to enter the “Bullet of Bullets,” a large tournament to choose the most powerful gunner within the realm of GGO, in hopes to become the target of the “Death Gun” and make direct contact with the mysterious avatar.

Thoughts

Needless to say SAO was quite popular and I do say it was rather enjoyable. Though, I was really only interested in the first half. Alfheim wasn’t as good but it wasn’t bad. Though I most definitely am not a fan of guns, I much prefer a fantasy world of swords and magic. I have read up on the new world, Gun Gale Online, and this is a world where people can make real money off which sets a good premise for ‘dark dealings’ to occur. So because of that I’m still interested, more in the dark subtext rather than the actual game and story at the moment though. And of course the risk of death is always interesting.

Will I blog this? – Likely