Exams back on, and new season’s on, this time I don’t predict good times. But I did enjoy my exam free time during the summer and watching a lot more anime. My picks of last season has to be Akame ga Kill and Hanayamata, two quite contrasting anime if you’ve seen both, but I felt like with my exams over I wanted to enjoy something with a plot and after recommendations came my way I settled on Akame ga Kill. I was a little disappointed with the season as there really wasn’t that many anime that I liked. Sword Art Online and Hamatora was good, but neither were things that I actually looked forward to. With this new season I’m going to have to cherry pick anime again with revision being much higher on my priority list. Perhaps it’s lucky that there isn’t anything that I know I would really want to watch, of course that could all change with first impressions.

As always these days, I’m not really that up to date with what’s coming out, at least I’m blogging these ‘on time’ now. But because of that there’s nothing I know, like usual, apart from WIXOSS next season which I of course will be watching as I liked the first season and especially that interesting cliffhanger of an ending which promoted quite a wall of text from me.

There are two ‘updates’ that I want to mention, firstly I’m going to change to using the word ‘synopsis’ rather than ‘key events’ on my blogs as I feel it’s a better word to describe what I’m writing. And secondly, as unbelievable as this sounds, I may stop blogging Vanguard. Nope, nothing’s wrong with me, I just feel that most of the time there’s really nothing to write about for Vanguard and my effort could definitely be used elsewhere. So here’s my plan, I don’t know how many episodes Sword Art Online II is going to be, but if it’s going to extend for a further 12 or so episodes into the fall season then I will happily switch Vanguard with one of the new anime starting. Although that switch could just end up being WIXOSS another card game anime, but at least I feel there’s usually more to say there. However if SAO II does finish before the fall season then I will keep Vanguard going as normal and pick something new to fill in SAO’s place. Whatever the case, I will pick up something new next season.

With that out of the way, here’s my top 5 picks based on PV, artwork, synopsis and whatever else first impressions I can get a hold of.

Akatsuki no Yona

Akatsuki no Yona

Yona is the sole princess of the kingdom, living the luxurious and carefree life as a princess should. She has it all: the finest clothes and cosmetics, the most divine sweets, a loving emperor as a father, and the hottest cousin crush, Soo-won, anyone could ever hope to have. Now, if only her bodyguard, Son Hak, wasn’t so annoying to her and her hair wasn’t so red.

But her nearly perfect world quickly shatters as the man she loves, Soo-won, murders her father and the path to his ascension to the throne is assured. Son Hak escapes with Yona, and they lead a life on the run from that point on.

Thoughts

Well, this one is actually because I can’t find anything else I’m interested in just from a synopsis and some promo videos. But either way, I do also like the genre of fantasy romance, and that usually is enough to attract my attention and keep it there for me to enjoy it. So at the moment I’m sold. Although this does sound like a very straight forward plotline, I can see what may happen, but that doesn’t stop me from watching it.

Will I blog this? – No

Magic Kaito 1412

Magic Kaito 1412

Kaito Kuroba is a normal teenage student whose father is often absent. When his father dies under mysterious circumstances, he is made aware of his father’s secret identity: a famous international criminal known as International Criminal 1412: the Phantom Thief, and that he was murdered by a mysterious organization for refusing to aid them in retrieving the “Pandora Gem,” a mystical stone said to shed a “tear” during the passing of a particular comet (often called the “Volley Comet”), the consumption of which bestows immortality.

He vows to prevent the organization from gaining immortality, and assumes his father’s identity as he begins his quest for the gem. His only clues as to the gem’s location are that it glows red under the full moon and that it is a doublet: a gem hidden within a larger gem. Thus, it would have to be a relatively large one with a bizarre history, and always stored in a place that never receives moonlight. He thus researches and steals famous priceless gems with odd histories from incredibly well-defended areas, and always returns them after the very next full moon.

Thoughts

I know Kaito Kid from Conan, and I also know that there was a spin off manga and some sort of anime made for him. I believe they were just OVAs or something and I never bothered to check them out. After that I don’t really know anything else. He’s quite the character from Conan and I wasn’t surprised to find out he had his separate manga. He’s an interesting character, with an interesting story that was hinted at in Conan several times throughout the series, but obviously not properly explored. So after seeing this green-lit a while ago, I thought this has to be one of the ones I can’t miss.

Will I blog this? – Maybe

Ookami Shoujo to Kuro Ouji

Ookami Shoujo to Kuro Ouji

The story centers around Erika Shinohara, a vain 16-year-old girl who tells her friends about her romantic exploits, but she actually has no boyfriend. She claims that a handsome boy in a candid photo is her boyfriend, but it turns out that boy is a schoolmate named Kyouya Sata. She has no choice but to make him her fake boyfriend. Unfortunately, Sata may look like a sweet person, but he is actually an ultra-black-hearted sadist. Sata takes advantage of Erika’s weakness and treats her like his dog.

Thoughts

A very typical shoujo romance actually, but hey, just the fact that it’s a shoujo romance has got me interested. I say yes please. l can never get enough of these and if you’re asking, I did enjoy Ao Haru Ride though it’s ending was a little too open and resolved nothing. But if I’m honest, that’s expected considering the manga’s still ongoing so I wasn’t expecting a nicely wrapped up finish. But anyways, this anime kinda reminds me of Kaichou wa Maide-sama, which I also enjoyed. I’m not sure what I’m expecting from this, but a bit of hilarity is high on my list.

Will I blog this? – Unlikely

Ore, Twintails ni Narimasu

Ore, Twintails ni Narimasu

Mitsuka Souji is a first-year high school student who greatly loves the “twintails” hairstyle. One day a beautiful girl, Thuearle, who comes from another world suddenly appear in front of him and gave him the power to transform into the twintails warrior TailRed. Now Souji, with the help of his childhood friend Tsube Aika who can become the twintails warrior TailBlue, must fight in order to protect the peace on earth.

Thoughts

Right, if I haven’t misunderstood, then I believe this is a twintail crossgender transformation battle fantasy? To be honest, just because of that ludicrousness, I’d be watching. But I thought I’d need to say something. It does sound like your typical cliché romantic battle fantasy, however I’m always intrigued by weird little unique quirks in them. I remember watching Akikan quite a while ago and I had so much fun watching that. This probably won’t be the highlight of my season, I’ll be very surprised if it turns out to be, but I would like to have some fun watching this.

Will I blog this? – No

Selector Spread WIXOSS

Selector Spread WIXOSS

Second season of Selector infected WIXOSS.

Thoughts

Like I said earlier, a good cliffhanger that threw a lot up in the air, and I liked the first season as this was one of the only TCG oriented anime that didn’t actually show you the card game but focused on the plot, the character relationships and everything else surrounding the game. I’m likely to blog it unless something else gives me a better first impression in the opening episode or two. And I also feel that with the themes this anime explores, there’s a lot I can comment on.

Will I blog this? – Likely

