Here we are ladies and gentlemen, into 2015 and another new year of hopefully great anime. I was thinking of doing a 2014 round up of anime but as I found out pretty much as soon as I got back home, there’s not a lot of time. For the past 7 days, I’ve only had 1 full day at home, the others I’ve been out for at least half the day, hence why my blogs are still coming out quite slowly. Luckily this is the season’s end so I’ve been given time to catch up. Still though, I wanted to get this up fairly quickly so I’m not late for the season start, hence took priority and since starting to write this I’ve realised I don’t have the time to even attempt a year end round up. So I decided not to bother. Maybe later in January, and definitely something I’m gonna try to plan for next year, as in keep a record of standout anime throughout the year.

I will say though, my highlights last season were, as depressing as it was, Akame ga kill and another being Amagi Brilliant Park. Two continuing anime I would like to give mentions to is Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso and Akatsuki no Yona, really enjoying both at the moment and going at a good pace for both, although I’m feeling Akatsuki no Yona’s slowing down a bit too much, but still going strong story wise.

Exams over yet again for a few months, I start again in March so that hopefully gives me the entire spring season to watch as much as I like. Both SAO and WIXOSS have finished meaning I’ll pick up two anime this season with Vanguard also being a likely choice as it really hasn’t gotten started.

I hope everyone is well and enjoying the holidays. I’m enjoying my time off and having fun back home even if it’s busy. There really aren’t many changes in my life, been very focused on my work and exams and that’s more than enough to get on with especially with anime and anime blogging that I still want to keep up with.

As always, my top five anticipated picks for the season and like last time I may not necessarily blog only from these five. First impressions can change a lot with one or two episodes. Without further ado here they are:

Ansatsu Kyoushitsu

Ansatsu Kyoushitsu

A humorous and action-packed story about a class of misfits who are trying to kill their new teacher – an alien octopus with bizarre powers and super strength! The teacher has just destroyed the moon and is threatening to destroy the earth – unless his students can destroy him first. What makes things more complicated is that he’s the best teacher they’ve ever had!
Thoughts:

This first one is a friend recommendation and even if she didn’t recommend me I would still watch it as I related it to both Danganronpa and Akuma no Riddle. Both of which I really enjoyed and this seems to be similar but much more comical. So, I can hardly say no. I like the set up, it looks quite funny and I got a recommendation for it, need I say more?

Will I blog this? – Likely

Durarara!!x2 Shou

Durarara!!x2 Shou

First cour of Durarara!!’s second season.

Thoughts:

Needless to say, I think the first season was very well received by the majority, myself included. Although I can’t actually remember how it ended or that much about the plot, which is why I don’t have a lot to say about it. I do however remember that I loved the psychological warfare and intertwining storylines. I hope it will be another good watch this season and for it to build on last season’s successes.

Will I blog this? – Maybe

Kamisama Hajimemashita

Kamisama Hajimemashita

Second season of Kamisama Hajimemashita series.

Thoughts:

This is the other second season anime that I’m watching. I enjoyed the first season, it was a bit of good entertainment and fun. A very relaxed and fun oriented shoujo with a silver haired fox guy, I don’t think it’ll be on Kokkuri’s level of wackiness but hey, I’m fairly certain I’ll get some good laughs from this and maybe the odd seriousness in plot here and there.

Will I blog this? – Maybe

Rolling girls

Rolling Girls

Ten years after the Great Tokyo War, each prefecture in Japan has split up into independent nations. Each nation is ruled by a prophet called “Mosa” and an army called “Mob” as they start to compete to take over other countries. Four “Mob” girls from the Saitama clan, Nozomi, Yukina, Ai, and Chiaya, are ordered by their “Mosa” to travel around Japan riding their motorcycles to mediate multiple battles between nations and clans as they emerge.

Thoughts:

Gotta try something weird every season and this looks to be the one for this season. Girls on motorbikes calming down civil war battles? Yeah, why not right? Sounds like something I can drink to on a Friday night and hopefully it’ll be just that. The only thing I worry about is it getting too laidback and nothing happens. As much as I don’t mind that, I’ve started to get bored of a lot of slice of life anime that absolutely nothing happens and it isn’t backed up by interesting characters or any injection of comedy either. I’m not a huge fan of motorbikes either so if that’s the main part of the appeal then I’ll probably lose interest fast. But anyway, the premise sounds good for now.

Will I blog this? – Unlikely

Sengoku musou

Sengoku Musou

Toyotomi Hideyoshi is on the verge of unifying the realm, and all that remains is the Odawara Castle protected by the “Lion of Sagami” Ujiyasu Houjou. Hideyoshi’s personally trained generals—Ishida Mitsunari, Katou Kiyomasa, and Fukushima Masanori—as well as Ootani Yoshitsugu, Shima Sakon, and Naoe Kanetsugu are all on the frontline of the battle. Amidst the battle formation are the two young warriors of the Sanada household: older brother Nobuyuki and younger brother Yukimura. As the stalemate begins to break down, Sanada Yukimura rides on a lone horse into the fray. His brother follows him right after.
Thoughts:

I don’t think I’ve said, but I recently bought a PS4. My initial intention was to leave it at home until late January and then bring it down to London when the new Dynasty Warriors game is released but I didn’t want to leave it untouched for that long having bought it in November. So I looked around at PS4 games that may interest me and came across a game from the makers of DW called Samurai Warriors 4. This game is based on the Warring States era which I’ve dabbled in in anime before. But now that I have the game I feel I should try and understand more of the sequence of events so I can enjoy the game more. My knowledge probably won’t get to where I am with the Three Kingdoms era, but I want to know a rough outline of the story. And also this anime is straight from the game, so I’m treating it as almost an extension of the game and giving it a try. I’m hoping to learn some things.

Will I blog this? – Likely

