It’s that time again, when I have exams soon… but more importantly, it’s a new anime season! I have been actually a little hyped for the first time since I can remember, and the reason? Well, it’s of course Digimon Tri! It’s been a while since anything ‘old’ that I know well has popped up on the current scene, if you know what I mean. Sailor Moon was the last one I remember, probably because I’m still watching it, but I didn’t really know it that well considering that I never watched the original. Digimon however, is a completely different story. It, at the time of my childhood, was something I actually considered on par with Pokemon in terms of how much I enjoyed it, and the whole ‘digital’ side of it actually probably helped it to tilt it in Digimon’s favour. The unfortunate thing is, it didn’t continue like Pokemon did, if it had, I think I definitely would’ve followed Digimon. But given how the story was set, that wasn’t going to happen. So yes, very excited for Digimon.

The other anime I was aware of are that new music one from KyoAni, Hibike! Euphonium and some new seasons of anime I was already watching not including Digimon such as Nisekoi, Uta Pri and Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Comedy wa Machigatteiru. Of which all I’ll probably watch. Others I was mildly aware of include that thing about picking up girls in a dungeon, sounds hilarious, may check it out, and that YGO battle city remaster, again nostalgia but nothing new so I may check it out.

Otherwise, there aren’t much else to say. I want to give some shout outs to anime I’ve enjoyed last season and purely last season. Assassination classroom of course, and I look forward to it continuing. Death Parade, something I wasn’t going to watch initially but caught my attention, is actually quite enjoyable. Kamisama Kiss and Durarara have been okay, nothing that impressive, but good otherwise.

Onto my blogging now, yes I’m still here, don’t ask me how, because I’m not even sure how I’m managing this with so much going on in my life. But still, 5 years already, time is quite unforgiving isn’t it… Well, I’m enjoying it. So, I believe Sengoku will finish and AssClass continuing meaning I’m freed up one anime. Now you probably would assume that I’d jump at Digimon, but actually, I’m not that certain. Probably Digimon, though I wouldn’t mind finding something else.

UPDATE: As I said last week, this was actually written two weeks ago, and I’ve just been informed news that Digimon has been delayed until Summer 2015. I’m not sure if this is completely true, but if it is then of course blogging this is out of the question. Hopefully it’s not, though the source I had seemed pretty official… 😦

Anyways, here are my top five picks for the new season:

Digimon Tri

Digimont Tri

Continuation of the original Digimon Adventure series.

Thoughts

This was as much of my childhood as Pokemon was, probably a little less, but still a huge part. I can’t miss this for the world. I actually don’t care that much about what the story will be, the only thing I’m concerned about is the fact that I watched it in dub and of course I’ll be watching this in Japanese. Hopefully that unfamiliarity will only last an episode or two and I’ll just enjoy the nostalgia.

Will I blog this? – Likely (If it airs)

Hibike! Euphonium

Hibike! Euphonium

Hibike! Euphonium begins when Kumiko Oumae, a girl who was in the brass band club in junior high school, visits her high school’s brass band club as a first year. Kumiko’s classmates Hazuki and Sapphire decide to join the club, but Kumiko sees her old classmate Reina there and hesitates. She remembers an incident she had with Reina at a brass band club contest in junior high school.

Thoughts

I have reservations about this series. I’m sure everyone remembers K-ON, and as much as I liked the anime, it was a little boring a lot of the time and the music was okay but it wasn’t anything special. However, that said, this is still a KyoAni production and they’ve mostly been good series with high animation quality. Another reason I want to give this ago is because of the divergence away from ‘normal’ bands to some good old brass. Weirdly enough I’m reminded of So Ra No Wo To, purely because of the brass and music involved. I’ll just say that I hope it’s nothing like that as I personally didn’t enjoy it at all. My trust in KyoAni is still there, so I’ll watch this with optimism.

Will I blog this? – Likely

Mikagura Gakuen Kimikyoku

Mikagura Gakuen Kimikyoku

A story based on the super popular song series from NND. Eruna Ichinomiya, a freshman who dreamed of a school life filled with cuteness, entered a boarding school—Mikagura Private School. In this school, each of the cultural club representatives have to battle each other, with unique powers…!! What will happen to Eruna, who somehow ended up becoming the representative of a certain club?!

Thoughts

I think if you’ve read my other season previews you may have noticed in some of them a friend recommends me an anime to check out. This is the recommendation for this season. The recommendations have been hit and miss but this one does look interesting. I’ve been informed that it was a vocaloid song project, though that in itself doesn’t mean anything to me. In fact if anything it then reminds me of Mekakucity Heroes, which I didn’t enjoy. So I’m hoping this’ll be better and make more sense, i.e. I don’t need to understand everything behind it to know what’s going on. But at least the set up itself sounds pretty good. And who doesn’t love some high schoolers battle with abilities. Not cliché in the slightest.

Will I blog this? – Unlikely

Nisekoi:

Nisekoi Season 2

Second season of Nisekoi series. The story revolves around Raku Ichijou, a normal high school student who happens to be the heir to a yakuza group. The attractive but violent transfer student Chotoge Kirisaki, the heir to a rival yakuza group, transfers to his class and the two must pretend to date to keep a war from breaking out between their families.

Thoughts

Your fairly typical romcom actually, but a very enjoyable one. First season was well done and I remember it was quite well received as well. It was a very comical series and that suits my tastes for the upcoming season quite well. And also I don’t see any other romcoms around this season that interest me.

Will I blog this? – Maybe

Uta no Prince-sama Maji Love Revolutions

Uta Pri Maji Love Revolution

Sequel to Uta no Prince-sama Maji Love 2000% about a girl called Nanami Haruka who wants to be a song writer so she attends an idol training school and is paired up with 6 bishounen idols to form an unforgettable idol group.

Thoughts

I actually enjoy Utapri, not just for the characters, but the songs are actually surprisingly good. Or at least they’re memorable enough and I think the whole overdramatic and over exaggeration of everything helps. I mean who can forget the principal, just his way of speech is enough to make him memorable. And as always, some eye candy is nice heading into revision season knowing that this will not turn into anything tragic.

Will I blog this? – Unlikely

