Another year ends and the funny thing is that a friend of mine asked me about my highlights for the year, I can only think of one major one, which is finishing my exams for qualifying as a chartered accountant. But that’s a once in a lifetime thing and after I found out my score for the final exam it was only a moment of joy and then a ‘that’s it?’ thought. So I’m kinda in a weird place where I’m not completely sure where I want to head to next career wise. Being an anime critic (at least I think I am one) and otaku, and my main interest apart from anime is gaming, I feel like I should guide my future in those industries. Annoyingly I never make a decision quickly, though this is probably one I shouldn’t make quickly anyway, I’ll do what I think is right when the time is right in any case.

Anyway, bringing things back to anime, sadly this was a busy time for me and I actually dropped some anime. I normally never drop anything and will stick with everything I start until the end but priorities are there. So my anime watch list this season felt a little smaller.

What’s been big for me this season then? Well, not quite a season anime, but I watched Your Name at the cinema, as mentioned in my SOTW, and it was amazing! Highly recommended but if you’re an anime fan you’ll likely have already seen it and don’t need me telling you that.

Hibike Euphonium was the anime I blogged and whilst I haven’t yet finished it, it’s looking like it will deliver on my expectations from the start. Sure it had a few hiccups but I can’t fault its quality. I quite liked Girlish Number, having seen many anime industry related anime this was another good one, and I also plan to marathon Shirobako later as well. Speaking of anime industry, Stella no Mahou was kinda related and that was really good too, who doesn’t love a bit of moe in game creation.

Kiss Him, Not Me and Magic-Kyun played out as expected and this new WIXOSS was much ‘lighter’, I expected a darker storyline but it actually ended quite happy. Those are the main ones in my head that I wanted to comment on, my pick of the season will go to Hibike for another great performance and I don’t think the last episode, which I have yet to see at the time of writing this, will ruin anything.

I’ve probably mentioned this before, but traditionally the first half of the year in audit will be busier so I’m not looking to expand my anime blogging repertoire next season. In fact with my position in work, I don’t think I’ll ever get back to more than one anime per season sadly. I will however blog Digimon Tri when it comes out so that’s something.

Konosuba 2 is probably the anime I’m looking forward to the most next season but because of how ‘storyless’ it is, I don’t think I’ll write about it. Zestiria 2 will be the prime candidate having blogged the first season. Otherwise Granblue Fantasy and Handshakers interest me a great deal. Anyways, as always, the five I’m looking out for as below:

Ao no exorcist: Kyoto Fujouou-hen

ao-no-exorcist-kyoto-fujouou-hen

Second season of the Ao no Exorcist series.

Thoughts:

Although this is first on the list, it’s purely alphabetical, this was my last choice as it was a tossup between this or Rewrite’s second season to post here if I wanted to stick to my list of 5, which I did unconditionally. So, I went for this, not because I feel I’d enjoy this more, but more that I really didn’t enjoy Rewrite’s first season much. The entire season felt lacklustre and I didn’t think the mix of characters gelled well. And I really wasn’t a fan of the time shinanegans they pulled at the end i.e. wiping out everything that had happened.

Ao no Exorcist was a fairly typical shounen and followed what I’d say is a typical plot in the first season. Though I have to say my memory of it isn’t the greatest as it was a while ago. At least I remember I liked it enough to leave a good memory in my mind.

Will I blog this – No

ChaoS;Child

chaoschild

ChäoS;Child takes place in October 2015, six years after the events of ChäoS;HEAd. Abnormal events begin to occur in Shibuya district, including mysterious deaths.

Thoughts:

I actually liked Chaos;Head, I remember it being a little trippy, ‘out there’ and perhaps sometimes slightly repulsive, in a good way. The sword designs were great, it’s just a shame they were never used in combat. Still, it was an interesting setting and just confusing enough to hold my interest but not overwhelming. As far as I’m aware, this is a continuation, the game at least is. I can’t speak for the anime, but it should be related enough.

Will I blog this – Unlikely

Granblue Fantasy

granblue-fantasy

This is a world of the skies, where many islands drift in the sky. A boy named Gran and a talking winged lizard named Vyrn lived in Zinkenstill, an island which yields mysteries. One day, they come across a girl named Lyria. Lyria had escaped from the Erste Empire, a military government that is trying to rule over this world using powerful military prowess. In order to escape from the Empire, Gran and Lyria head out into the vast skies, holding the letter Gran’s father left behind – which said, “I will be waiting at Estalucia, Island of Stars”.

Thoughts:

This is an interesting one, as I can say I know nothing about the anime, apart from that it’s a game. But I don’t know anything about the game either. I know of the game and remember thinking ‘that looks nice’ when I looked at it, although I never played it. Because I thought it looked nice, I thought this then might be interesting and the PV looked pretty good too. Yes you heard right I watched the PV, definitely the first time in an anime season I’ve decided to try the PVs.

Will I blog this – Maybe

Konosuba 2

konosuba-2

Second season of Kono Subarashii Sekai ni Shukufuku wo!

Thoughts:

First season was great, I get tired of all the serious fantasy adventures in different worlds as well now and then, who doesn’t like one that breaks normality a little and pokes fun at what people might consider an established formula.

Will I blog this – No

Tales of Zestiria the X Season 2

tales-of-zestiria-the-x-season-2

The second season of Tales of Zestiria the X.

Thoughts:

This one was a no brainer, I liked the game, the animation was great and after having taken a long break from the game to finish off Digimon Cyber Sleuth and Atelier Sophie, I definitely wouldn’t mind being taken back to the world of Glenwood. This is also the most likely anime to blog, I remember enjoying writing about it the first time so I’m sure it’ll be just as good to continue Sorey’s adventures.

Will I blog this – Very Likely

 

