Hello everyone! We are yet again going into beautiful spring and the weather here in the UK is warming up and I’m soaking up my fair share of vitamin D. I’ve returned from holiday as well and rested up a few days so feeling refreshed and ready to go once more and hope that work won’t drain me horribly again. But if I know work, something bad will happen…

Let’s not think about that though and start with some reflecting on last season. Starting with my biggest disappointment, it has to be Handshakers. With how good, mostly, K looked I was expecting a similar level of quality, but sadly what I received was a very generic battle fantasy that couldn’t even lean on its animation to keep interest as that was enough to make anyone dizzy. The only redeeming factor was that I actually enjoyed the OP theme.

The biggest surprise was Youjo Senki, it never even came up on my radar as its military and sci-fi related, both of which I’m not a fan of, but a good friend of mine recommended it saying it was actually good, so I gave it a chance and started it late and was very surprised at how good the storytelling was.

Konosuba was the one I looked forward to the most, it however started off disappointing, but picked up nicely and then was really good and found its form.

I think though probably my favourite would go to Kobayashi-san Chi no Maid Dragon, it was an excellent mix of fun, serious issues and chilled out daily life that I needed. Plus it has a dragon maid, what more do you need right? Can’t go wrong with KyoAni.

Forward looking now to this season, I actually don’t know any of the sequels coming out. Usually I’d know most, if the last few seasons are anything to go by. The only one that I actually know about is Granblue Fantasy, that’s because only the first two episodes were released in last season when I thought it’d be a full series. So it’s going on the list again as I’m pretty sure this time it’s a full series. Not that I pay enough attention to these things to find out…

Apart from that, I know nothing, so am going purely by plot summaries and the odd key art and character designs. On first glance though, it doesn’t look that entertaining a season, but maybe I should give PVs a look too, I started that last season and it proved helpful. That said, the PV for handshakers was what hyped me up for it, and we all know how that went…

In terms of my life I think I discussed most of it in my birthday blog so if you’re interested in how I’m personally getting on, have a look there. Otherwise, let’s get going with my top five picks for the new season, bearing in mind how little I know about them:

Clockwork Planet

One day, a black box suddenly crashed into the house of the high school dropout Naoto Miura. Inside it was a female automaton. The endless cycle of failure and success.

The world that does change and the mankind that does not change. At a time where reality and fantasy are screaming, the encounters of these two make the gears of fate move!

Thoughts:

Without looking more deeply into this one, it reminds me of unbreakable machine doll which I enjoyed. But the clockwork part, like the start of the first PV reminds me of handshakers, hopefully it’s more like the former as handshakers was not good… Regardless though, it looks interesting on its own, probably a battle fantasy from the clips I’ve seen.

Will I blog this – Unlikely

Gin no guardian

Lu Shuiyin (Riku Suigin in Japanese) is a master of gaming, a skill only known to his classmate Lu Lian (Riku Lin in Japanese). One day, Shuiyin receives a device from Lu Lian for a tomb raiding online game. While Shuiyin is excited to receive the device, Lian is suddenly kidnapped. Shuiyin touches the device that was left behind, pulling him inside the game and trapping him there. What is the imaginary world inside the device? What will Shuiyin find there?

It is a world where two groups of people fight over the power of the gods, which originates from the tomb the mother goddess Pangu (Bango in Japanese). The two groups are the tomb raiders and the tomb protectors. The device Shuiyin received from Lian is called the Monolith, and it allows a normal gamer to go near the tomb. The tomb raiding group plans its attack by recruiting common people in the name of gaming. Shuiyin, as the final tomb protector, must fight against the raiders in order to save Lian.

Thoughts:

Going into a virtual game world, hmmm where have I heard that before? This category of anime looks like it’s been expanding in recent times whether it’s a ‘game’ world, or just descending into a different world. I’ve enjoyed pretty much all anime in this category, so I’m willing to give this a go as well and see how the story is told here. Regardless of it choosing a serious and drama inducing route like Re:Zero or comedy route like Konosuba I think it’ll be good anyway.

Will I blog this – No

Granblue fantasy

This is a world of the skies, where many islands drift in the sky. A boy named Gran and a talking winged lizard named Vyrn lived in Zinkenstill, an island which yields mysteries. One day, they come across a girl named Lyria. Lyria had escaped from the Erste Empire, a military government that is trying to rule over this world using powerful military prowess. In order to escape from the Empire, Gran and Lyria head out into the vast skies, holding the letter Gran’s father left behind – which said, “I will be waiting at Estalucia, Island of Stars”.

Thoughts:

So apparently only 2 episodes was broadcasted last season as a teaser or something? I didn’t actually understand what was going on, nor did I care that much as my work piled up. I enjoyed the first 2 episodes, it’s following a formula that’s giving it a very standard fantasy feel but I don’t mind that, it’s actually been a while since I’ve seen something like it and I enjoyed the good old fantasy cliches. Brings back memories of Elemental Gelade, first one that popped into my head. I’m gonna redownload and skim watch the first two episodes to remind myself of what they were.

Will I blog this – Maybe

Sakurada Reset

Nearly half the population of Sakurada, a small town near the Pacific Ocean, has some sort of unique power. These powers range from being able to enter the mind of a cat, to resetting the world back to a certain point in time in the past. There is a group known as the “Kanrikyoku” that controls and monitors the use of these powers. Asai Kei and Haruki Misora work for their school’s club called “Houshi” club, which execute any missions received from the Kanrikyoku. Misora has the ability to reset the world back 3 days. This means that all events and any memory of the past 3 days that “could have” happened, never happened. Kei has the ability to “remember” the past. Even after Misora uses her powers to reset the world back 3 days, Kei will retain those 3 days in his memory. Combining their powers, these two solve missions issued by the Kanrikyoku.

Thoughts:

Teenagers with powers in a school setting solving problems scenario, fairly cliché set up now, but as mentioned preiously, I really don’t mind that. Plus there really isn’t that much interesting going on this season for me personally. And the thing is these type of anime generally ends up with really good drama and storytelling, as long they keep it mellow and not ridiculously over the top, it’s more likely to fail then, my mind wanders to Charlotte being the last one I remember that did that. Although the over the top issue was more because it was out of character of the anime. Still, you get my point. I’d prefer something chilled either way.

Will I blog this – Likely

Tsuki ga Kirei

Kotarou Azumi and Akane Mizuno became third year students at junior high school and are classmates for the first time. These two, along with fellow classmates, Chinatsu Nishio and Takumi Hira, relate to their peers through mutual understandings and feelings. As their final year at junior high school progresses, the group overcome their challenges to mature and become aware of changes in themselves.

Thoughts:

Another coming of age type drama by the looks of it. I like these highschool drama/romance anime actually. It’s always nice to revisit back to those ages, the Japanese definitely love their highschool years, which would be what they say is their prime of youth. Although I’d personally say it should be your 20s, no bias there of course…

Will I blog this – Maybe

 

