Don’t worry about what others said. Just be yourself.

Synopsis

Before a fight breaks out between Yuuya and Mamika, a woman by the name of Alicetelia comes by to take Mamika away on a Pegasus.

Yuuya understands the situation here and has fought the Military Uniform Princess before who told him that he can change his world if he finds his creator. But he’s not interested, he has a few questions, but seeing how his creator is just a normal person, he’s not as intrigued. He wants to have some fun.

Now that Selesia has met her creator, they decide to see if anything can be changed so they invite Selesia’s illustrator, Marine, round for some experiments after explaining the situation. Takashi writes out a short scenario to give Selesia a new weapon with a new chant and Marine draws it out. But nothing changes unfortunately and Selesia can’t wield this new weapon.

Marine offers Selesia and Meteora to stay with her and also offers to take Meteora to the studio where her game was created.

Elsewhere Military Uniform Princess sits alone talking to herself about someone called Setsuna and how Sota is connected to everything.

Thoughts

After all the discussion before of changing the created worlds using the creator, we finally get to that. But of course that begs the question, how do you change something? Yes you can change a line in her character description, but that’s likely temporary otherwise people in these fictional worlds would be changing nonstop e.g. when writers decide to change the story line or edit small parts.

As Sota says, it’s about leaving an impression on the audience. I wrote my thoughts on this before he said that and I ultimately agree. My thoughts were that the changes surely need to be ‘broadcasted’ and accepted by the masses for the change to happen. Selesia will still be what she is now to everyone watching the anime or reading the book, just because the author changed one line, that doesn’t mean anything. Although, then this gives more evidence for the other approach that the other worlds were already there and we’re just peering into it.

Going on the topic that the creators can change the characters and having the need to leave an impression before a change occurs, that raises up further queries of what’s the cut off? How many people does this impression need to last on? And more importantly, if it’s a drastic change, I’m more interested in how the character, who knows the change is coming, will react. That’s assuming she’s warned of it previously if they stay in this world.

Ultimately though, it sounds extremely arbitrary and hence not an easy thing to pin down. As someone who loves setting rules in fiction, if I’m writing it, I don’t believe it’s possible here. There are too many factors, especially given now that we know the anime Selesia doesn’t know the novel Selesia meaning those worlds are separate. And we know how anime can differ quite a lot from the source material which then puts into question who the creator actually is, the original author or the anime director?

However after thinking about it for so long I think I’ll ignore it from now on. You can only speculate so much, I’ll comment when they give me an answer on how they’re doing it.

I used to write novels too and I still want to be a novelist if I ever find the time away from my day job. This anime kinda makes me think about the characters I create and what they’re going through. It’s interestingly thought provoking, and maybe I’ll think twice about killing off characters, as if they come to the real world at any point they’re not gonna be happy if I killed off their best friend or relative etc.

The more interesting development came at the end of the episode where we find that Sota has more to do with everything than he believes. But apart from a name, Setsuna and the mention that Sota was previously involved with Military Uniform Princess, we don’t get much more. Still, I think this Setsuna person could very well be the woman who committed suicide at the very beginning of the series. Whatever that could mean we’ll find out.

When a series makes me think this much, I know it’s going well. So far so good, everything’s been thought out and the concept I liked when I looked into this series has held up well.

