Hello everyone, and welcome to my Summer 2017 anime season preview! I have been under a lot of frustration for the past couple of months with many things going on mainly the fact that I moved house! If you don’t know, I have very recently completed the purchase of my first property and had about 3 weeks of overlap with my previous rented accommodation. Therefore I’ve been very slowly moving everything over to my new place.

I have to say, buying your first property is probably one of the most stressful things ever. I very rarely get stressed out, I always follow the notion of if you’ve got a problem you should never worry, because either you can do something about it, or you can’t, both of which means you’ll have done everything you can so there’s no need to worry. Annoyingly though the latter of those options when you can’t do anything is actually really stressful. But regardless, everything is done and I’ve finished moving in after setting up some IKEA furniture for the first time too.

Anyways, in terms of anime, Re:Creators of which I’ve been blogging has been really good and I’ll continue blogging that. So it’ll be unlikely I pick up a second anime to blog, but who knows, I’ll still do my season preview anyway, even if it’s just to give an update.

The anime I wanted to make some comments on are Hinako Note, which was as moe as expected, and Sagrada Reset which I felt was too complicated for what was needed that it felt like it was tripping over itself a lot. Y’know that phrase ‘Oh, what a tangled web we weave…when we first practice to deceive.’ I feel the anime was akin to that if you get what I mean. Still quite liked it though, I always enjoy an anime that has some thought to it. That’s of course not to say I don’t enjoy some straight forward cliché anime like Clockwork Planet. And lastly, thought I’d give a mention to Tsuki ga Kirei which has taught me a new phrase of how to say ‘I love you’. It wasn’t a ‘typical’ romance as usually we see a lot of RomComs, but lately not many of those, it was an interesting serious adolescent romance anime.

In terms of the new season I’m looking forward to the gaming related anime, namely New Game season 2 and Gamers. Both of which I have comments on below. Otherwise I’m just looking for some eye candy and mindless fun.

Apart from moving house there isn’t much else going on, but then again, the house purchase and moving has pretty much been my life for the last month so it’s not exactly a small thing. Anyway, below you’ll find my standard five anime:

Aho-girl

This 4-koma style manga features Yoshiko, a genuinely stupid girl (she can even manage to get all 0’s on multiple choice tests). She hangs out at school with her childhood friend, who she claims to like, and he has to put up with all her ridiculous behavior!

Thoughts:

As mentioned above, this is the one where I’m looking for some mindless fun. This looks to be just that, on the promo picture I see a girl chasing a banana with a dog, what more do you need right? Plus it’s a 4-koma style manga, and if I know 4-Koma style manga, they’re all hilarious.

Will I blog this – No

Dive!!

The series revolves around the Mizuki Diving Club (MDC), which is on the verge of closing down after having financial troubles. The club’s new coach persuades the club’s parent company to stay open on one condition: that the club sends one of its members to next year’s olympics as part of Japan’s olympic team.

Thoughts:

As far as I’m aware this is basically Free. So I’m in, in which case I wonder if anyone dives ‘free’, if that’s a thing. Regardles, Free was good, so I have high expectations.

Will I blog this – Maybe

Gamers

This is a story that revolves around certain students and one hobby. Amano Keita is our lonely protagonist who has a passion for gaming and is friends with Uehara Tasuku, who is secretly a fellow gamer and is someone who believes his life is perfect. We also have Karen Tendou, the club president of the video games club and Chiaki Hoshinomori, who constantly bickers with Keita. This is a story filled with a non-stop sequence of comedy scenes and misunderstandings. Our chaotic romantic comedy now begins!

Thoughts

I’m a gamer, I live the life of a gamer, this is about the life of various gamers, yeah I’m sold. Also the picture for the anime is Tetris, one of my favourite games of all time, it’s also the most sold game of all time. Some useless information for you, so I’m now definitely sold. Plus it seems like mindless fun too.

Will I blog this – Maybe

Ikemen Sengoku: Toki o Kakeru Koi

My name is Sasuke. I was a graduate student, but one day I got time-slipped into a warring period. On top of that, it’s a different warring period that I learned about in history textbooks….

Thoughts

This reminds me of Hakuoki, but hopefully less tragic and bloody because I liked it but it got too sad and people kept dying. I’ve always like historical time periods that involve large amounts of conflict like the Three Kingdoms era in China and Sengoku era in Japan, so I hope this’ll be both educational and fun to watch. Although after looking into it a bit more, it’s a 5min episode short series, hopefully that means it’s a comedy and more fun based…

Will I blog this – No

New Game!!

Second season of New Game.

Thoughts

I really liked the first season, it was an interesting insight into the industry like Shirobako except probably not as detailed. I’m not sure how they plan to expand it in the second season, I’m assuming it’ll be more geared towards slice of life and comedy rather than industry specifics. Which is more what I’m looking for anyway. Either way, I think game creation is fascinating and actualyl would like to end up in the gaming industry one day, working in finance of course.

Will I blog this – Unlikely

