Happy Autumn all! I have just returned from my first long holiday since last Christmas, far too busy lately and glad to finally have a break, although the annoying thing is that I went from very tense to very relaxed and caught a cold. But that would never detract me from blogging! So here I am again with another season preview.

I don’t have much to update on in my life, my busy season at work is still not over so still overworked sadly. My flat, whilst enjoyable living alone, still has a hot water issue that is slowly getting fixed. That’s literally been my life the last anime season, it’s really annoying dealing with constant on and offs of hot water, but nothing I can really do about it except complain. Otherwise I’m pretty settled and the days are going on as normal. I’m hoping by next season with Christmas passing by I’ll have something more to report, but nothing this time. So I’ll move onto anime.

I just finished Re:Creators whilst on holiday and also caught up on all the other anime I’ve been watching including Digimon Tri which came out recently. Re:Creators you’ll notice was  posted last weekend, I haven’t finished Digimon yet as I’m trying to think of how to be less harsh, you’ll know what I mean if you’ve seen it. Re:Creators was probably the best for me this season. With a deep exploration of the relationship of creator, audience and creation and a well planned out story too, I highly recommend it.

Other honourable mentions include New Game with the second season, in my opinion, performing as well as its first but delivering more on the serious work relationship side. Aho Girl was a blast to watch, one of those ‘what the hell did I watch’ anime. Gamers wasn’t quite what I expected it to be, I was hoping for an anime more focused on the games, but actually ended up being a weird romcom involving a love pentagon, although the interactions and miscommunications made it a fun watch.

My biggest disappointment would probably be Smartphone anime, the premise was actually very interesting and when it start I felt it had great potential, but it became duller by the episode turning into a lazy slice of life that isn’t even funny. Otherwise the anime I watched were either meh or meets expectations with nothing I can really say about.

Looking into the new season the top one on my list is a sequel, being Himouto’s new season. A funny, witty and most importantly, relatable first season easily wins my interest for a second one. I also plan to watch the new Love Live, and honestly I’m not sure why… there’s an abundance of idol anime available but since Starish, the only other idol anime I took an interest in was Love Live, I guess it knows what it’s doing otherwise it wouldn’t have such a big fan base, so I’ll continue with it for now. But it’s not on my list as I have four ones that I have my eyes on and hope for a good season to get me through a cold winter.

Code:Realize

Cardia has a deadly poison residing in her body, and as a result, gets called a monster by others. One night, she meets a mysterious man calling himself Arsène Lupin, who leads her to Industrial London. From there, she meets various people uncovering the truths and real stories behind the strange people and land, in an attempt to recover her memories and search for her father who holds the keys to her memories in London.

Thoughts

Probably the main ‘serious’ plotline anime I’m interested in this season. Literally the main thing that drew me to this was the fact that Lupin was mentioned. You may be surprised, but I’ve not seen any Lupin related anime. I mean I know of them, who doesn’t, so I thought I’d give this a try to see what he’s about. I was going to watch Conan vs Lupin at some stage, but have not yet had the time. I doubt this’ll be a great representation of Lupin, but it’s something and I liked the art, plus many anime recently that started with ‘Re’ have been really good… call me silly, but I’ll latch onto that for my reasons.

Will I blog this – Unlikely

Himouto R

Second season of Himouto! Umaru-chan.

Thoughts

First season was great, very relatable as a gamer, much more so than the anime called Gamers last season at least. It was hilarious and I don’t think I need to say anymore except I’m looking forward to an equally good sequel!

Will I blog this – No

Konohana Kitan

In a village inhabited by youkai, the lives of several fox mononoke working in a hot spring inn. The stories revolve around a new employee, Yuzu. Yuzu had always been living in the mountains, but now has to adjust to a new life working in a high class inn. She is oblivious and clumsy at first, but with her simple cuteness, she is able to get along with all the other foxes.

Thoughts

On the theme of reminding me of other anime I’ve watched previously, this one reminds me of Hanasaku Iroha, it was one I didn’t actually think I’d like as it looked dull from the face of it. But the drama aspect was actually really engaging and realistic. I somehow doubt that this will be as drama filled, but who knows, and I still enjoy a relaxing slice of life.

Will I blog this – Unlikely

Netojuu no Susume

Moriko Morioka is a 30-year-old single NEET woman. After dropping out from reality, she has taken off in search for a fulfilling life and ended up in a net game or “netoge.” In the netoge world, she began her new life as a refreshing and handsome character named Hayashi. While starting out as a beginner, a pretty character named Lily reached out to help her. Meanwhile, in the real world, awaits a shocking encounter with a good-looking elite company employee, a mysterious blue-eyed blonde.

Thoughts

Speaking of gaming anime, why do I feel lately there’ve been a lot more of them… Is this a trend that’s going to continue? Feels to me that everything came up after the success of Sword Art Online, but don’t quote me on it! It is purely guesswork and speculation and I’m definitely not an expert in the anime popularity and trend field. Regardless I will watch everything gaming related and this will be no different!

Will I blog this – No

Ousama Game

Nobuaki Kanazawa, who transferred to a high school far away, is afraid of getting intimate with his new classmates because of the events that happened from his previous school. This led him to shut his heart. However, he starts to open up during the sports festival’s class relay. He and all his classmates received an email from “Ousama.” At first, his classmates didn’t take what they were told seriously, thinking it’s just a joke, but Nobuaki, the only one who knows the real meaning of it, fights against the “death” game that will soon begin…

The rules of the Ousama Game are as follows:
1. All class members must participate.
2. The order sent by Ousama through email must be followed within 24 hours.
3. A punishment will be given to those who don’t follow the order.
4. Quitting the Ousama Game halfway is forbidden.

Thoughts

This reminds me of all the other classroom horror psychological anime I’ve seen in the past, and there’s one thing in common about most of them, they’re pretty enjoyable and generally well thought out. I think the most similar one I can think of right now to this is Danganronpa and I really liked it, so here’s hoping this’ll be one a similar level or better.

Will I blog this – Likely

