Opening Theme:

“Ready Go!” by May’n

Ending Theme:

“Akazukin-chan Goyoujin” by OToGi8

Our introduction of Ryouko and Ringo was quite the weird one. Ryouko chases down a guy who’s apparently been stalking someone and when they have the guy cornered he pulls out a knife. As he goes to attack Ryouko, a stone flies out of nowhere and disarms him, giving Ryouko the perfect opportunity to punch him in the face.

Now we get a fairy tale like introduction to the story by the narrator, Satomi Arai (Kuroko from To Aru Kagaku no Railgun). So then here’s to sum up what she says. The setting, Otogibana City, in there a school called Otogi Academy. Ookami Ryouko, is the one with fierce eyes, and is first year of high school. Akai Ringo is the red-haired girl in same year. They’re in a club known as the Otogi bank. Club president is Kiriki Liszt and his cousin’s there too, Kiriki Alice. A maid, Tsurugaya Otsuu. And two more members, Urashima and Otohime.

On Ryouko’s way home after a gym session after the club, she meets a really clingy guy named Ryoushi Morino, who’s in her class, who refuses to let go of her leg when his confession was rejected. And so unfortunately for him Ryouko leaves.

She goes back to her dorms where she shares a room with Ringo who’s also in the same class. Ryouko tells Ringo about Ryoushi, so she wants to make sure that this guy is worthy of Ryouko, even though he’s already been turned down. But Ringo has a plan and the next day she brings Ryoushi into the club to recruit him in as he has an ability to hide his presence. Oh and he has Scopophobia, so he freaks out every time someone looks at him. But even so, no one has any objections for him to join, cept for Ookami.

Anyway, they get a new client, Haibara Kakari, who wants them to help out a senior in the tennis club. Now we see how this Otogi bank works, in return for helping their clients, their clients now owe them and have to help them later. Kakari’s request is basically to stop her senior who’s a tennis player to quit tennis as she likes him.

So the first thing to do, is to keep a constant watch on the guy and Ryoushi’s first mission begins. He follows the guy into public baths but fails to get the resignation form. And it’s downhill from there as every time Ryoushi tries something his Scopophobia stops him.

They’re running out of time and out pops Majo, another member and basically a mad scientist. Her invention for this time is a bicycle with a pumpkin to carry the girl to the guy and a blindfold so Ryoushi thinks no one’s looking at him. The bicycle has no brakes… so when they try to stop when they saw the guy Kakari flips out and accidently kicks the guy in the face knocking him out, and so he fails to deliver the resignation form. Mission success.

As Ookami heads home again, she’s attacked by a gang of three people. As one was about to hit her with a metal pipe, Ryoushi comes out of nowhere to act as a shield and then Ookami was easily able to wipe the floor with them. And with that Ookami is able to accept Ryoushi.

I thoroughly enjoyed this first episode! This was the series I’m most looking forward to during my boring summer and I must say it was better than my expectations. Though this is still a first episode so I don’t want to judge the series too soon.

So anyway, I’ll start with the opening theme, which ironically was at the end of the episode. I don’t know this May’n so I’m hearing her for the first time here. I think her voice is quite cute, and the music’s rather cheery, which fits with the voice. I do like the song, it’s the type of song that can cheer me up when I’m in a bad mood or really tired, like now. But, that said, it really wasn’t anything that’s going to stick in my head. It was rather generic, normal j-pop, nothing special about it. That also goes for the scenes shown too, just your normal character clips, nothing exciting or out of this world, but I suppose all this suits the anime rather well being a light hearted romantic comedy.

I love the characters in this, it’s such a varied bunch and for some reason they mesh together so well that it’s amusing. I have to say that Ookami’s attitude is definitely Taiga-esque which I enjoy, it’s always good fun to see girls beat up people. And the art is also Tora Dora-esque, it is J.C. Staff after all, I love their art. I like how everyone’s personality traits are all from fairy tales and how this entire anime seem to bring back all those old fairy tales you read as a child, it was so nostalgic, it does make you face palm, but it’s still funny. Their naming sense is obviously also based off the fairy tales linked with their personalities, and I think it’s great fun, I mean, who wouldn’t want to be call Ookami?

Satomi’s voice probably wasn’t the best for the narration, but surprisingly I wasn’t too bothered by the end of it. It was fun hearing Kuroko’s voice again. And speaking of narration, whilst I thought she did an average job I did find Ookami’s constant destruction of the fourth wall to be quite comical. I always enjoy it when someone breaks the fourth wall, even if it is just a piercing glare at the narrator.

On a last note of the first episode, I thought that Ryoushi’s quite the lovable character even if he repeatedly adds ‘su’ at the end of his sentences which annoys me greatly. Also, I haven’t even heard of Scopophobia before I watched this anime so instead of pitying him it just made me laugh… this is one fun phobia hehe…

I’m not very much looking forward to the second episode and is a very definite I’ll continue to blog this.