Rihoko starts off the episode with a narrated flashback from two years ago when Junichi asked her to go shopping. She thought it was a date, but it wasn’t meant to be as Junichi wanted her help to find a Christmas present for the girl he liked. Even still, she had fun and her love for Junichi has always been unrequited.

Present day and Rihoko refuses to get up, luckily her friend Kanae comes by and force her out of bed. She forgets something halfway to school and goes back to get it.

After going back home, she realises that she’s not going to make it to school on time and decide to take a shortcut. This happens to be a hole in a wired fence and she gets stuck in it. Someone walks up behind her and coincidently it’s Junichi. He helps her get out but then leaves her behind when the school bell goes off.

At lunch we see why she couldn’t get through the hole when she doesn’t stop eating. Kanae suggests she goes on a diet again, and she agrees. Sanae knew that Junichi must’ve said something to make her agree as she said she was done with diets a while ago.

With the diet decided she gives her cupcakes to Junichi as a thank you for the morning. Sanae then cleverly sets up a Sunday outing with her, Rihoko, Junichi and Umehara.

Rihoko has problems with her diet as we see her stuff down a choux cream. She is then told a lie that it’s a treat you give to someone when you’re proposing. And she believed that!

After school as Umehara and Junichi are doing some ‘dodgy’ dealings they hear Rihoko and see her quietly eating a choux cream. Junichi and Rihoko walk home together and he says that he’s supporting her diet. They visit a park they used to play at when they were kids and enjoy a bit of reminiscing.

Next day, Junichi goes through the hole to get to school, he then looks back at it with a pondering face. Later Rihoko is late as well and so goes through the hole too and easily gets through! Though we find out that it was thanks to Junichi making the hole bigger. This gives her confidence that her diet will work out.

Off to a relaxed start then, I saw this coming. I thought it was your typical slow, light hearted start to a childhood friend series except things moved quicker than usual as there are only four episodes. So we already know that Rihoko likes Junichi, not surprising, I thought it would be that way seeing as Junichi is the main character and this sounds like a familiar childhood friend plotline. Anyway, in the next three episodes Junichi will realise that he likes Rihoko too then. I have a bad feeling we’re in for a slow paced boring arc, I really hope not, but to me it seems rather typical so far, I’m hoping for something out of the ordinary.

We got another side of Junichi’s Christmas story two years ago. Seems he was even shopping for a present for the girl, this kinda makes me feel sorry for him even more. He was so happy, and he’s a nice guy, poor Junichi. Are we ever going to know who this girl is? I want to know what heartless girl could do such a thing. Or is it just a plot device and we’re never seeing the girl? I’m predicting the latter, but I hope not. I feel sorry for Rihoko too, unrequited love is so painful, but it’s okay, this arc is hers. Although I’m not that big of a fan of the klutz type, so I hope they don’t make that more obvious than it already is. But I guess there are fans…

I didn’t really like the new ending. Yes it was quite a chirpy and happy ending, but I dunno, I just didn’t think her voice was very good for the song. Or maybe that’s just me. But anyway, too many ending songs in one series isn’t a good thing to me. I don’t like it, I prefer one opening and ending to stay for at least twelve episodes so I can get used to the song because after a few listens I may actually like it. Oh well, I’m not too bothered about endings as I rarely listen to them anyway.

Okayish start, a bit typical for my taste, but I’m interested to see how it goes from here. If it’s going to be typical then hopefully some funny antics will make it enjoyable.