One night Saitou follows Sannan but loses him. He then hears loud groans and moves in that direction to see Amagiri fighting an out of control Rasetsu and helps kill it. Amagiri explains that this Rasetsu is from the Tosa clan who escaped and are murdering people in Edo. He was ordered to verify this fact and eliminate it.

Amagiri then explains about a Rasetsu’s origin of power. Which is their life force, they use it up faster to have greater strength, speed, fast regeneration etc. So the more they use, the faster they’ll die. He asks Saitou to pass on this information to the Rasetsu in the Shinsengumi and leaves. All the while, Sannan watches from afar.

Later in the morning, Hijikata tells Sannan that he’s not allowed more Rasetsu because he knows the flaw of a Rasetsu and won’t allow the research to go any further.

Moving on, Lord Yoshinobu is locked in Kan’ei Temple so the Shinsegumi can’t really fight in Edo. They now move to Aizu, which is Lord Katamori’s land. Hijikata orders Heisuke, Sannan and the Rasetsu unit to move out first because of not wanting them to mix with the new recruits.

Chizuru asks Hijikata to stop using Rasetsu powers and he sorta agrees, but then he gets a sudden urge to drink blood. Chizuru tries to cut her finger to give him blood but he stops her and shuns her out of the room.

Later, the Shinsegumi move to a new base and Saitou takes the new recruits out for drills so they’re not with everyone else.

As Chizuru is bringing tea to Kondou, they’re suddenly surrounded by the enemy. Hijikata volunteers to go out and buy some time but Kondou orders him to escape whilst he buys some time. Being an order Hijikata has no choice but to obey and he readies everyone. Kondou gives Chizuru a bag of money and tells her to flee now, but she says she’ll go with Hijikata.

Later, Hijikata, Shimada and Chizuru with a group of Shinsegumi escape out the back leaving Kondou behind. But on the way they meet a large group of the enemy. Hijikata decides to take them on alone and even though he’s outnumbered and shot twice, he carries on fighting using his Rasetsu powers. He kills them all, but is still frustrated. Chizuru embraces him and tries to calm him down.

At the end we see Kondou get taken away by the enemy.

Firstly, sorry this took so long to get blogged. There were many many reasons for this so I won’t go into any. But I can tell you that I should have these blogs back on track now, I hope anyway.

So a Rasetsu basically breaks the limit of a human by using up their life force, I’m sure this has been used before multiple times, but whatever, I guess it’s more logical than saying it’s a magical medicine that turns them into unstoppable vampires without any negative effects.

I’ve been noticing these nice atmospheres around Hijikata and Chizuru, I guess it’s pretty much certain that this is the pairing the anime’s going with, if they’re going with any pairings at all. I don’t mind, it’s quite nice couple.

Good to see the famous works from China get a mention in this episode, namely romance of the three kingdoms and the water margin. Which are two of the four great Chinese classic novels, the other two being journey to the west and dream of the red chamber. Just thought you’d like to know.

I wonder why Kondou insisted on sacrificing himself to let the others escape. I’m sure he could’ve escaped with everyone quite easily, especially since Hijikata had to use his Rasetsu powers in the end anyway, I mean they were surrounded so he had to fight his way out. I guess Kondou thought he could lure everyone to him, which he didn’t do very well… oh well, I hope he doesn’t die and gets rescued somehow.

For some odd reason my video’s sound stopped working after I was randomly disconnected from the internet. My connection’s been really bad again. Though I have no idea why my sound would stop, and it was just this video. So the last parts I judged completely by what I saw, I think I was vague enough… if not tell me any details I got wrong.

As for the episode itself I don’t have much overall to say. Partially because I haven’t been watching it for a while and partially because I’ve been exhausted the past couple of days. But, what I will say is this, I don’t like the way the show’s going. Seems like more and more main cast characters are leaving or dying… I don’t like that, I hope it’s not gonna end as a tragedy. Also, I want to see why Koudou is doing what he’s doing, and here I thought he was a nice guy, well that’s over now.