A Latin song with a beautiful melody. If anyone’s seen Elfen Lied then you will probably be reminded of Lilium. You don’t get Latin songs apart from soft smooth melodies ones, I wonder if someone will make a rock Latin song, that’d be interesting and weird. Guess Latin’s one of those languages that just doesn’t suit rock. But without further ado I give you opening theme of Dantalian no Shoka, Cras Numquam Scire:



I don’t think having Huey talk at the end is a nice addition to the song, if anything they could’ve made him sing what he said, or have the song repeat but quieter and then have him make the speech or have him speak it in Latin. I didn’t like it when it was just humming and his Japanese talking, his voice doesn’t suit the music and the language doesn’t either. Just like Spiral on mixing French, English and Japanese, it becomes a bit of a mess in my opinion, although that song is very slowly growing on me. Apart from that, I loved the song from the first time I heard it and can’t stop listening to it even now. But who doesn’t love an alluring melody matched with beautifully sung Latin?

I have to admit the animation sequence seems like a random mosaic of scenes that doesn’t fit the song in the slightest, and doesn’t give you a taste of the main theme of the anime which is books. But when you think about it, this anime is a random assortment of ‘cases’ in nearly every episode, so I believe if you can imagine the song being the main theme of the anime and the assortment of scenes being the various cases, then this opening sequence fits nicely.

But anyway, this is my second music blog of the season, I think I’ve got one more I want to say something on. So enjoy, and I’ve even put up the talking ‘lyrics’ even though I dislike them…

Lyrics:

Lune oqui cr pos tatumn.
Homu aude cr dis Soenan.
Cure Tint le vid siesta.
Mimo scap ler nox grad.

Astr scrib cr pos arcan.
Homu scire cr dis Abesn.
Infor Sintac le tabu vern.
Gigan Leinau le nascour.

Cae lie imam plati nor main.
Tempo le imam celer or mint.
Nihil dis scio Igo rina nis.
Colle Sintac mi
Sina cader plutien.

Igo clama re nihil minus.
Dis sciren ex Soenan.
Conti affir mia Celest.
Nova Sol ie rad four.

Talking (Hugh Anthony Disward):

Tsuki wa shizukani kataru
Dare ni mo kikoenu koe de
Kurikaesu shio no michihiki
Kieyuku kioku no joukei

Hoshi wa hisoka ni shirusu
Dare ni mo wakaranu moji de
Mugen no kotoba ga uzumaki
Sennoku no hon ga umareta

Boku ni wa sora ga hirosugite
Toki no kizami wa hayasugite
Nani mo shiranu mama munashiku
Atsumeta kotoba mo
Tsuchi no naka ni kuchiru dake

Sore demo boku wa sakebu
Wake mo wakarazu koe o ageru
Semete hibiki wa tenni todoke
Himo yagate noboru darou

Hikutsu na yami ga kotaeta
Mirai o mita mono wa inai to
Boku wa kokuu ni te o nobashi
Tsumetai kaze o tsukamu

Zetsubou yo fukinukero
Yume mo kunou mo subete kakoe
Chijou wa madoromu hakumei no naka
Boku wa mae ni susumu
Mada minu ashitae

That’s it from me for now, the next blog I’ll do will be the Sunday SOTW and I’m planning a minor update for the SOTW page that I think will make it much easier to navigate so I hope you’ll like it and I’ll tell you more when it’s Sunday.

Last thing, on a random note, does anyone else think that the last scene of the opening sequence when it showed the back of that book, it looked like the Clow book?