Well I did say I’d do quite a few music blogs and so I bring you my third music blog of this season. It’s another opening theme, this one from an interesting ghost story anime.

So I give you the Opening Theme for Tasogare Otome x Amnesia (Dusk Maiden of Amnesia), Choir Jail by Konomi Suzuki.



The main thing that grabbed me about this song was the start of the opening theme animation where Yuuko was doing a slow fan dance with the autumn leaves falling everywhere around her. That was beautiful, like art. It was that bit of uniqueness that caught my attention and I ended up listening to the song. The song has a nice dark and unusual feel to it, but the slow rhythms between verses were kinda uplifting in a calming sense. The only thing I don’t like about this song is the random ‘choir jail’, I mean sure it kinda fits with the dark theme of the song and it is the song’s title, but I don’t see a point in the English here. In their other song in the single, Zanzou Mirai, where it was Japanese during ‘choir jail’ part, that was fine. But hey, that’s my opinion, I just have a problem with English in Japanese songs, most of the time.

I quite like how I’m enjoying two genres of anime usually associated with gore/horror i.e. zombies and ghost/supernatural, but they’re both romantic comedies. I always love a romantic comedy, and when they’re not your typical high school genre, it makes it that much more interesting.

But anyways, here are the lyrics:

Watashi yo moete…
Moete dakishimete miru no wa tsumi ja nai deshou?
Hi de yami wo harae CHOIR JAIL

Nageite mo yume wa utawanai
Koko de sakenda yo “Kotae wa dare ga motteru no”
Utsumuida mama ja kizukanai
Kimi no hitomi no naka mirai wo sagasu

Moshimo kiseki ga ima wo sasu nara
Nijimu namida nugutte mae wo muite arukou

Watashi wo akete…
Konna kurushisa de nanimo mienai
Watashi yo moete…
Moete kanata he jounetsu wa tsumi ja nai deshou?
Hi de yami wo harae CHOIR JAIL

Maneite yo mune no otometachi
Koko wa yoi no meikyuu “yoake wo doko de matteru no”
Furueteru dake ja kawaranai
Kimi wo mitsuketa no wa unmei no shiwaza

Naze ni inochi wa hakanaku kieru
Tori wa toi wo yobu yue ai wo daite hateyou

Himitsu no saki he…
Yureru kanashisa wa nani wo abaku no
Himitsu ni furete…
Furete tashika na genjitsu wo nomeba ii deshou?
Te wo nobase nobase saki he…

Nemureru mori yo kisetsu yo
Sakihokoru hana karete mebuite

Watashi wo akete…
Konna kurushisa de nanimo mienai
Watashi yo moete…
Moete kanata he jounetsu wa tsumi ja nai deshou?
Hi de yami wo harae CHOIR JAIL, LONELY JAIL

You might’ve noticed how I do blog more opening themes than endings, I think I have explained that I usually listen to the ending once and then close my video player before it can play again whilst I listen to the opening much more. However, I do plan to blog ending themes this season, one definitely caught my attention.

I do need to say though, and I’ll probably repeat it a few times, my final year university exam period starts next week, so I will apologise now for any delays in blogs, but it can’t be helped and I hope you understand.